Wednesday, January 27, 2010

74th national badminton championship

Chetan Anand and Trupti Murgunde lifted the men's and women's title in the 74th Senior National Badminton Championship at Karmavir Nabin Chandra Bordoloi Indoor Complex here today.
For Trupti, this is her maiden title at the senior national level.
Fourteenth seed Anand played an attacking game before being down in the first set to overcome his 13 seeded opponent Anup Sridhar 16-21, 21-19, 21-10.
Anand played to his expectation and thrilled the packed holiday crowd as he overcame his first set loss to beat his opponent.
In the women's singles final, the second seeded Trupti Murgunde made an upset as she played an attacking game and beat the number one Sayali Gokhale 21-17, 21-7.
Anup Played remarkable well in the first game which also saw many disputed calls and tempers were running high . Chetan was clogged with unforced error in the initial stages and it made matter easier for Anup in the first game . Anup took the game 21-16.
The second game saw Chetan (Pic)surging ahead form the start and looked comfortable having taken good lead. However Anup clawed back up with a fine show of aggression and some excellent rally. Anup amazed the holiday crowd  with an twister of a rally when the score was 14 -16 , but further he could not hang on as he looked temperamentally lost with  disputed calls and at one point went on to argue with the umpire.   The third game was a already written story , looked like Anup had lost hope and kept making unforced errors and gave Chetan his Fourth Title. Chetan will now participate in the upcoming SuperSeries in Korea this week.
There was another upset in the mixed doubles final as the number three seed V Diju and Jwala Gutta beat the top seed A Vishnu and Appana Blan 21-12, 21-7.              It was a different tale for the Trupti Murgunde who won the maiden women’s title after failing thrice before. Trupti, who lost to Aparna Popat twice and Saina Nehwal once in her previous final appearances, put up a determined bid against Sayali Gokhale.
Trupti overtook Sayali just before the halfway stage and varied her game intelligently to win the first game 17-21. The second was even easier for Trupti who won 14 consecutive points as Sayali lapsed into repeated unforced errors apparently trying to go for winners. Trupti won the second game 21-7.
 Jwala Gutta of Petroleum continued her invincible run to win a grand double by lifting the women’s doubles crown, partnering Ashwini Ponnappa (Karnataka).
She won the mixed doubles crown with V. Diju, with who she forms the seventh ranked pair in the world. Sanave Thomas (Kerala) and Rupesh Kumar (Petroleum) combined to win their sixth consecutive title. With the win Rupesh picked up his eighth title and created the record of becoming the highest men’s doubles winner.
The results (finals): 
Men: (Vikas Topiwala Challenge Cup): B. Chetan Anand (PSPB) bt Anup Sridhar (PSPB) 16-21, 21-19, 21-10.
Doubles (Calcutta Badminton Cup): Rupesh Kumar (PSPB) & Sanave Thomas (Ker) bt Akshay Dewalkar & Jishnu Sanyal (AI) 21-15, 21-18.
Women: (Olympian Badminton Challenge Cup): Trupti Murgunde (PSPB) bt Sayali Gokhale (AI) 21-17, 21-7.
Doubles (All India Badminton Association Cup): Jwala Gutta (PSPB) & Ashwini Ponnappa (Kar) bt Aparna Balan & Shruti Kurien (PSPB) 21-15, 22-20.
Mixed doubles (Burdwan Chellenge Cup): Jwala Gutta & V. Diju (PSPB) bt Arun Vishnu (Ker) & Aparna Balan (PSPB) 21-12, 21-7.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

diju and jwala gutta now world no.7

Mixed doubles specialist V Diju became the first badminton player from the state to play in the final of a Super Series event finishing runnerup pairing Jwala Gutta (AP) in the Malaysian leg of the world final match they played against World Championship bronze medallists Christinna Pedersen and Joaquim Nielsen(21-14, 21-18). The team is currently ranked number 7 in the world.

In August 2009, the Diju-Jwala mixed doubles pair became the first Indians to enter the quarterfinals of World Badminton Championship. The Championships was held at Hyderabad, India. The duo, seeded 8th, got a bye in the first round followed by a walkover in the second. In the third round they defeated 12th seed polish pair of Robert Mateusiak and Nadiezda Kostiuczyk21-11 22-20 in a 31-minute clash. In the quarterfinal they went down to defending champions and second seeds Nova Widianto and Lilyana Natsir of Indonesia. The Indian pair was beaten 16-21, 14-21 in 27 minutes.

 On 30 August 2009, Diju partnering Jwala Gutta became the first Indian badminton mixed doubles pair to win a Grand Prix Gold title. They defeatedIndonesia’s Hendra Gunawan and Vita Marissa 24-22, 21-18 in the Chinese Taipei Open final.In the quartefinal, the world No. 7 pair and third seed in the tournament, defeated Korean pair Shin Baek-Cheol and Yoo Hyun-Young and in the semi-final Diju and Gutta prevailed over Malaysians Liu Ying Goh and Peng Soon Chan 21-11, 17-21, 24-22.